TiffaniHaynes’ Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tribute to a Queen…My Mommy.” November 9, 2008

Filed under: Poetry — tiffanihaynes @ 10:05 pm

I am…you

I’m you looking back

Just like you’re me looking forward

Yet I’m a more educated you

Just like you’re an uninformed me

 

I’m a better you

I’ve had a chance to look at your past and be apart of you’re present and future

Look at your wrongs and right them

Take your words of wisdom and use them

Decipher between the two and abuse them

 

I’ve cheated

Saw how you messed up and refuse to

See how you’ve achieved and aspire to

Seen when you were weak and despised

Seen you how strong you are and envy it

 

You’re a complicated me

You’ve taken the path and looked back

Seen the right road to far to get to and laid a track

Said, “Tiffani, you’re better than me, have a life better than me”

And I am

I have

Because of what of the example you’ve set and all that you’ve tried to be

 

You’ve failed

Who hasn’t?

You’ve risen

Not many do

 

It’s because of your resolve that I attribute my success to

Your determination to preserve in the name of me and all things marked future

When I could see past the present and be smart enough to

 

I am you

Every positive quality you possess

And every negative you struggle with

You’re constantly trying to better you

Inadvertently bettering me

After all, I’m aspiring to be a better you

So I salute you

The better you

The strong, God-fearing, loving, encouraging you

The complicated, at times unagreeable, stubborn you

Every part of you

After all, I’m only a better you

Only better because you made the mistakes and said, “Learn, Tiffani, so you can be the best you”

 

To my Mommy

My Janice

My Future-Me

I vow to make the Past-You proud

To be all the things that you had hoped to be

Achieve all the things you have planned for me

 

I am…you

I’m you looking back

Just like you’re me looking forward

I Love You

 

Leave a comment